Store news and updates

Into the new year already? How did that happen? Things are chugging along quite nicely in our little corner of Western Nebraska. I’ve been working on trying to plan out 2017 for the store. And taxes. Taxes are the worst part of owning a business. Necessary and required but not fun.

The fun part is being able to open up lovely boxes of yarns! So soft and wonderful. Another fun part is knitting up a pattern we have for sale in the store so people can see it in the yarn we carry. There are some definite perks to owning a yarn store!

Lately I’ve just been trying to focus on getting through the holiday season and keep the cold at bay. As we progress through that I can get planning a little better for the year. I would love to be able to offer some knitting, crochet, and spinning classes throughout the year. Weaving would be wonderful too. Now, the questions comes: Do I have enough space for some of these. Knitting and crochet certainly. Spinning and weaving? On a much smaller scale. My shop is little. I love that but it does limit me on certain things. You should check out Little Hawk Yarns on Facebook to see some of the latest pictures. With my phone being connected to that account it is so much easier to update photos there.

What else is going on? I have a wonderful employee named Barb. She also is the main provider of alpaca fiber for the shop. She has a herd of about 30 alpacas. They are sooo cute. Check out Alpacas at Two Creek.

One thing I am very proud to say about my shop. All of my fiber and yarn is either local or fair trade. Most is local. My fiber and yarn suppliers:

Brown Sheep Wool Company, Mitchell, NE

Mountain Meadow Wool, Buffalo, WY

Red Barn Wool Station, Minatare, NE

Alpacas at Two Creek, Mitchell, NE

Fairmount Fibers, Manos del Uraguay fair trade yarns

I love being able to support other small and local businesses. I think we have all agreed that it takes a village to operate a business in small rural areas. My hope is to be able to operate here for a good long time.

 

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

