Not gone.

I am not gone. I have had to take a hiatus from publishing on a regular basis though. I got a full-time job in town so I can build up some savings for the dream of opening a brick and mortar store. It has taken all my time and energy to have that, run my market booth, and run the farmers’ market.  It all means I’ve let some things slide onto the back burner. My blogs are one of those things.

A few fill in the blanks:

I resigned my market manager position at the end of the 2015 season. I found I just couldn’t have my own business, work for someone else, take care of my kids, and give the market the attention it needed. So, that is in someone else’s hands now.

My market booth has been a wonderful thing for me. I love the market. Even though it is work to maintain my booth and keep it stocked etc. I treasure those Saturday mornings that I spend with friends among good food and great products. Not to mention it gives me about 3 hours to spin on and off. Wonderful stress relief.

My cashgora goats went down the road. They were ornery and their fiber didn’t legally qualify as cashmere. The combination meant they went to someone else.

I’ve been spinning like crazy when I get the chance which isn’t as often as I would like but enough to keep me mostly sane.

I got to attend Interweave Yarn Fest!! I’ll have to do another post on that. What a good time. Thank goodness for a full-time job so I can pay for things like that for now. Someday I’ll be able to make those a total business trip.

I think this brings us mostly up to date. I have plans of saving my money from the full-time job and eventually opening a brick and mortar yarn store. It may be a crazy idea that the market research may or may not support. I think it will. I’m seeing more and more people from the area getting into the crafting and arts and that means a desire for tools and supplies. Our area has no local yarn shop. The other area towns have no yarn shop. We have a few big box stores that sell a little bit of yarn, but no smaller shops.

Now I just need to figure out how to make the business work. Lots of planning to come. Planning, saving, research, and prudent shopping for shop supplies.

 

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

