Winter Planning

Winter is a time for planning, for re-vamping, and for snuggling in by the fire. Our winter here has been strange. Yes, we got snowed in, and that led to some lovely spinning and knitting time. Since about Christmas when that happened, we have been going back and forth between cold and abnormally warm. We’ve even had a couple of 70 degree days! Craziness I tell you.

While I am thankful for the warmer weather and a chance to get outside and do some of the yard clean-up from last Fall, the warm weather is uncomfortable. Not in the actual physical sense. In that way it is quite lovely. But in the sense that this is not normal. January and February are supposed to be cold and the time to withdraw to inside chores. There was even about a week where we didn’t build a fire in the stove. Just strange to be outside in short sleeves digging in the garden or cleaning chicken coops while I would normally be inside planning the garden, baking, or making something with wool.

I did manage to make good use of the weather and got some wool and some alpaca washed up so I can work on that. I still have a ton to go but every little bit helps. I’ve been trying to catch up on some spinning as I traded a bunch of my yarn for my guard puppy. This was wonderful, but it means my inventory is way, way, down. Somehow winter is just about to slip away and all my plans of building my inventory have not come to fruition. Just the opposite in fact. That is good though. That means I’ve sold and traded goods and now it is time for new stuff. That is a beautiful thing.

Today our weather started to turn cold again and reminded me to get the last of my hay from my hay-man. It feels good to not be down to the last bale anymore.  Now I won’t worry so much about my goats. The goats are about to be ready to harvest fiber from. I’ve noticed some of their hair showing up on a lot more fence posts and barbs. Time to catch and comb the goats to see if they are earning their keep. I’ll also be trimming their feet at that time. I may as well get everything done in one catch. At least as close to it as possible.

Time to work on planning a spinning class I have coming up and I suppose my human children would like to eat dinner as well. I guess I’ll have to get that taken care of. First things first you  know.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

