Welcome to 2015!

Whew! I made it through the holiday season mostly intact. Things did get a little hairy there for a bit, but I made it through to 2015. A new year. I’m not sure what happened to 2014. It was overall a good but very busy year. I’m hoping 2015 will be much the same. Good and busy.

I have a few plans in the works.  I am hoping to get a beginning spinning class going for sometime in February or March. I need to get my location and dates lined up and then we’ll be good to go there. In addition to spinning classes I’ll have lots of project baskets in my market booth. It is also possible to special order them if you like. Along with project baskets I am hoping to add notions to my inventory. Knitting needles, crochet hooks, stitch markers and the like. I am partial to keeping the products handmade, fair-trade, and as local as possible so it will take me a little while to find the products I want to carry.

Soon my goats will be ready to comb for their fiber. I’m planning on getting them tested to see if I can officially call it cashmere. Cashmere is the undercoat of goats, but it has to meet a certain micron count or fineness measurement. If it isn’t under that magic number 19 microns then it is mohair and not officially cashmere even if the goat is a cashmere goat. Confused yet? It has taken me a bit to sort it out. Basically if the fibers aren’t incredibly fine and soft then it isn’t legal to call it cashmere. Of course that doesn’t stop some folks because cashmere is worth more than mohair. I’m hoping mine will make it legal for me to call the fiber they produce cashmere.

I’m exploring the idea of getting a couple of sheep as well as the two goats. For personalities and that sort of thing I usually prefer sheep. I think it is probably a product of being a little kid around lots of sheep. They seem to have imprinted their smell, feel, and sounds on me. I am not super fond of my goats. They aren’t the friendliest animals and one is down right ornery to her companion. She makes me mad when she kicks the more timid one out into the weather.  Never seems to fail that when the ornery one gets it in her head to take over the shed the weather is the worst.

I am working on finding a large guardian dog too.  I have found some puppies. They aren’t too expensive, but at the same time they aren’t dirt cheap either. I swear I’m going to have to start a fund to sponsor my critters. Things like hay, dog food, and vet bills never go away with critters.  I love them to pieces though and wouldn’t trade having critters for the world.

Lots of new plans for the new year. Mostly I just need to get my behind in gear. No dawdling or doing other things. You could call that my New Year’s resolution: Less procrastinating.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

