Busy, busy.

The new goats have kept me busy.  They are jumpers, climbers, and generally goats. Which translates into being escape artists.  One isn’t as friendly as I had hoped which doesn’t help when trying to catch goats.  I’m in the process of installing electric fence now.  I’m hoping if I can get them trained to that they’ll quit jumping my fences.  I sure don’t want to have to try to go high enough to keep them in.

You can see some photos of the girls on my Facebook page under Little Hawk Yarns.  They have lovely soft hair that is going to be wonderful cashmere when they shed.  I love petting them because they are so soft.

In addition to goats keeping me busy we’ve been busy getting things ready for the winter season.  I’m finding all the holes in my goat shed and trying to get those plugged up to keep drafts and moisture out.  My chicken coop will get cleaned out today and ready for the cold weather to hit.  We are supposed to get hammered this next week so today is the day to get some things done before the cold hits.

When the cold hits it makes every little thing harder.  Waters freeze, hoses freeze, noses freeze, and no one wants to be out in the weather.  Once I get the critters settled in then I can work on being inside and get more spinning done.  I have several lovely alpaca blankets that my mom gave me for my birthday, still have piles of wool, and soon I will be stuck inside because of the weather!  This will give me lots of time to spin without interruption.  Well, almost.  I do still have two little kids so interruptions come with the territory.  I should say “with fewer interruptions.”

I hear that breakfast is ready so it is off to eat pancakes and get some homestead chores done today.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

