Fiber Fair and Market Wrap-up

I made it!  Through the market season that is.  Whew!  That is the second summer season under my belt now.  I also have one winter market season down.  I’m not doing a full winter season this year.  With running the summer market I haven’t been able to keep up with my spinning or teach like I would like to so I am only doing the two markets in December.  This way I might be able to catch up on some fiber processing, some spinning, and some teaching.

So where are we?  Fiber Fair.  I participated as a vendor for my first fiber fair on the 13th of September.  The really great part is that I didn’t have to travel far.  I think it might be 15 miles to the fairgrounds where the fair was held.  The actual fair was a little slow as far as customers, but it was a fun event.  You can’t beat being surrounded with like minded individuals when it comes to fiber.

Today, I’m giving a talk to a second grade class.  I did this last year as well.  Kids that age are a lot of fun to talk to about spinning fiber.  I find they ask some of the best questions.

In other news, I got two goats!  Cashgora (cashmere angora cross) goats.  So I should get some good fiber in the spring.  Their names are Chamomile and BB, both girls.  Cami (as I end up calling her) is much nicer and it is assumed that she is BB’s mom.  BB is still not sure about humans but she is soooooo soft.  They are more or less leash trained so it isn’t too bad to handle them once I get a hand on them.  We did have some adventures right to begin with.

I went and picked the goats up with my husband’s Subaru Outback.  That went surprisingly well.  They road in the back better than a lot of dogs I’ve known.  They just stood and watched the world go by.  I’m sure other drivers wondered what on earth I was doing but otherwise it was an uneventful drive home.  I didn’t even have any jelly bean (poop) deposits.  My husband and kids had gone to town so I was by myself to unload them and get them settled so no problems there.

Once the husband and kids got home they of course wanted to see the goats.  All of a sudden, problem.  Both goats dove through the barbed wire fence (just like I was afraid they would do) and took off through the neighbors’ pastures.  After a couple miles of chasing through fields, and having the goats be chased by the curious yearling calves pastured on my place, I finally got a hold of Cami and got them back in.  I tied them up, went to town for field fencing, and proceeded to fence until it was too dark to hammer fence staples anymore.  The next morning I took my kid to school and on a last minute whim threw my dog in the truck with us.  Good thing too, because when I got home the goats had escaped again.  A short chase and catch later they were tied up again and I spent the next three hours or so fencing the other half.  Whew!

Now they are fenced in and (knock on wood) haven’t escaped again.  It is quite the adventure since I’m doing all this with the two little kids in tow as well.  Well, the second morning I only had one kid with me so that was a little easier.  And luckily the dog was still in the truck because she is absolutely no help with livestock what-so-ever!

I’m excited that I should be getting some cashmere from these two goats though.  Despite their rigorous exercise program they have devised for me, I think we’ll get things sorted and I’ll enjoy keeping them around.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

