Tour de Fleece

Summer sure gets busy around here. At the moment I am have just started the TdF or Tour de Fleece. Why? Well, because I need another project of course. For those of you that don’t feel like clicking through the link, the TdF is spinning along with the Tour de France. There are teams to join etc on Ravelry but it isn’t a competitive thing just fun. Mostly it is a challenge to myself to see if I can actually sit and spin for several hours a day.

Getting that much spinning in with a garden, a farmers’ market to manage, cooking and the other basic household stuff to do, and two little kids is pretty entertaining. It never fails that as soon as I sit to do some spinning the kids or one of the critters needs something. That is the way my life is at the moment. It isn’t bad or good; just the way it works. Some days it works better than others.

I am still working on a matching project for my friend and market neighbor. I still have about 2000 yards to spin for her but I’ve been stalled out because my color matching is giving me fits. I may have to move to the easier colors to match and give this one a rest for a bit.

My challenge for the TdF is to get most of this project spun and out of the way so I can work on my own stuff. I love the challenge and trying to match a commercial yarn but I am very ready to move onto something else. I really like what I would call “free spinning” too. No project in mind, just making yarn to make yarn. That is much more fun than spinning for a specific project. Projects are good in that I enjoy challenging things but that is the extent of it.

I do have one hiccup in my three weeks of the TdF. Next week we’ll be going on our family vacation and I won’t be taking my spinning wheel. I have picked up a drop spindle and am trying to learn how to spin on that.  Learning new muscle movements is interesting.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tour de Fleece

  1. Brenda says:

    Kat, you sure do keep busy! Have a great and enjoyable vacation.

Leave a Reply

