Farmer’s Market Prep

I am getting my market booth ready for my second season at our farmer’s market. This means lots of spinning, printing of brochures, label making, and making of table cloths and banners. I was going to purchase both the table-cloth for a new table and a new banner but I didn’t like what I was finding. Banners started at about $40 for a stock banner prior to shipping. Not so bad but I wanted something unique and didn’t want to pay money. I am trying to do this yarn endeavor without spending money that I haven’t made yet. So, I painted and sewed my own banner. Thank goodness for calligraphy lessons as a kid.

Table cloths are relatively inexpensive but I was having no luck finding a plain color that wouldn’t detract from my product. I ended up making a custom cloth for a new table I got. I really like how it turned out. It is a perfect fit and has the back side shorter than the front to make a nice display. Plus the fabric is a solid color and a heavy nice fabric. And the best part? I had the fabric given to me so the only thing it cost me was a little time to lay it out and stitch it together.

I haven’t decided yet whether to attach my banner to this table or hang the banner overhead. I think I will play with it both ways before I decide. I will also be doing lots of practice set ups between now and the 7th of June. I am not sure which way I like my tables yet.

Ah, the joys of getting ready for market season. I am hoping to get it to where I like it, take some pictures so I can remember, and then also apply for my local fiber fair. Eek! So much to do.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

