May Chores

As the spring gardening gets going we have a little break in our markets around here. The month of May there is no market for us. Although, that only slightly lessens the work load. Right now I am busy sewing table cloths for my display tables, spinning to build up my supply, designing and painting my new banner, making wooly balls, and planning the markets for the season since I’ve become the market manager. I’m busy but it isn’t as bad as it sounds when I write it like that.

My garden is only getting so far at the moment. I don’t dare tempt fate too much with the frosts that are still very possible. I have several crops in but I am holding off on the majority of the plants so I don’t kill them. At least this gives me some time to work on my booth.

Besides dressing up my display I am hoping to add a few products to my booth this year. If I can get my time management together I’d like to add some handmade wood buttons, market baskets, and herbs. My herbs will only be added if the plants do well. I will only take the best from my garden to market and if it isn’t doing well then it won’t go.

I realized the other day at our last winter market that I need to re-vamp my signs too. I have gotten so used to being inside and protected from the weather that my signs are very light weight. That just won’t do in our weather where wind is a very common thing. So, rocks as weights and wood signs I think will be in order as well.

I will take pictures once my booth is dressed up. Right now it is in an awful state of remodeling. Off I go to continue working on it.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

