Spring Expo and Market

This past weekend our winter farmer’s market was invited to have a market at our Spring Farm Expo. We had a mini-market at our fairgrounds. Lots of fun, people, food, and music. I got to visit with several friends as well as meeting new friends. I love market days for that.

The gathering of friends is what market is all about to me. It makes me happy that I will be able to share that with our entire community now. In that regard I have news. I am our summer market’s new market manager. I am so excited for the new season. Terrified, but more excited. Anything new is scary. It should be more fun than scary really. The previous market manager did such a nice job of laying the ground work that it looks like mostly I need to keep the momentum up.

Now if I can just get this spring head-cold I found somewhere to let go of me I’ll go great guns on my spinning, my market duties, and my homestead spring chores. For today though I think it is a lazy day of rest and a little spinning.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Expo and Market

  1. Fiona says:

    I just saw your post on Punkin’s Patch. Barbed wire is not great fence but if you rin electric netting or wires 3′ inside the barbed wire it will work very well. There are some very good alternative to plank. I ranched for years an used 4 strands of good barbed wire, yes I had some less than great days but I also had some awful wrecks with horses impaling themselves on planks. Kencove is a fenceing product suppier with very good information and products.

    • Thanks for finding me. Yep, critters can find all sorts of trouble with all kinds of fences. I’ll take the wire because it is what I have and I’m too broke to change that out. I’ve also seen the damage to horses from barbed wire. Dad was a farrier all my life so I got to see some interesting stuff along with my own. I’m looking to have fiber animals though and goats and sheep are a lot more trying on the fences it seems. I’ll probably end up with an electric sort of fence on the inside of the barbed wire. Maybe someday I’ll find someone to sponsor me and my crazy endeavors. 🙂

Leave a Reply

