Fiber Farm Growth

I am trying to work out the growth of my little farm. The hardest part, just like any operation, is the financing. Animals are expensive, fence is expensive, and feed is expensive. Just so you know, when you buy my yarn you are helping to add to my tiny but growing savings that will go toward those things. I want to raise my own fiber but as I’ve touched on before, my fences stink.

Actually they are very nice well-built barbed wire fences. That is fine for cattle and horses. Not ideal for horses but works fine. You just get to watch for wire cuts. But the other smaller livestock likes to go through barbed wire fences. Goats and sheep are notorious for going through, under, and over fencing. Who am I kidding? Even my chickens like to squeeze through their fence. Yes, I need better fencing.

My thoughts are this: I plan on getting fencing worked on first. Chickens are first since they are already here. My other small corral is next. I’d like to get a couple of goats this year. I have a source for them but I need fences and hay for the winter. I have lots of browse and weeds for them but no gates and no panels that will hold a goat. I figure I can let them graze the large pasture without too much trouble during the day when I can keep an eye on them and them put them in the corral in the evenings. Of course we all know the saying about best laid plans.

I’d better get spinning this morning so I can add a bit more to that savings. I have some ideas to mull over as well and spinning is great for turning ideas around in one’s head.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

