My Dad and Socks

As I am approaching the third year anniversary of losing my dad I am finally at a point where I feel like I can attempt to finish the pair of socks he left. I inherited his knitting stuff, yarn, and a pair of almost finished socks. One done, and one just about to turn the heel. I had never knitted socks or turned a heel or anything of that nature. So far prior to this I have knitted one toe-up sock and got mad at it because it didn’t fit. I have not finished that pair of socks.

So, back to the socks my dad left. I’m pretty sure he was making them for my mom. She is coming to visit next weekend and I’m trying to finish them for her. I practiced the heel turn on a swatch. I spent a lot of time in front of YouTube looking at different methods of turning heels and came up with my own way. This is part of the problem of trying to finish these socks is that my dad made his own sock patterns. He had a unique way of knitting too from the looks of things. And he usually knit with a worsted weight yarn on homemade needles. I don’t feel like it would be far off to just knit this sock by the seat of my pants. It is most likely how he was knitting. At least he left good notes.

That has been an enjoyable part of this project is getting to read all the notes from my dad. His notebook contains all sorts of little notes. Knitting and other things like a friend’s birthday and the family’s foot sizes. Also, his Learn How book was in his knitting stuff. This is the book that I’m pretty sure he learned to knit from. It includes his notes about my brother and I’s foot sizes as little kids. My dad used to knit our socks and mittens for us when we were little. They didn’t have much money and lived where winters were cold, so they would get sweaters from the thrift store, unravel them, and he would knit them into socks and mittens.

I’m looking forward to surprising my mom with the finished socks. I’m learning how to knit socks too. My nightly routine has been to sit down with Agatha Christi’s Marple (a Masterpiece Theatre production) in the evenings and knit several rows. I’m about to the toe and so I’m hoping to finish in the next couple of days. Good thing too because Mom gets here either Thursday or Friday.

Dad and I's sock almost to the toe

Dad and I’s sock almost to the toe

The sock that is done and the one I'm working on.

The sock that is done and the one I’m working on.

Dad's knitting bag that he made.

Dad’s knitting bag that he made.

The Learn How book that Dad used for patterns and how to knit.

The Learn How book that Dad used for patterns and how to knit.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Dad and Socks

  1. Jolene A. says:

    That’s awesome! Your Dad would be so proud of you! Your Mom is going to LOVE them. 🙂

  2. Bonnie says:

    I think that is so cool that you both are working together on the project. I would love to learn to knit.

Leave a Reply

