The Homestead

As spring arrives I have been doing more projects outside and less inside. I still need to do lots inside or at least move my wheel outside. I have ton of spinning to get done. I’m kind of excited for May to get here as that is an entire month with no market. I might actually get a bit more surplus built up. It is a good problem to have, but a problem none-the-less.

Yesterday I did lots of outside stuff. It was almost 70 degrees after all. I finished (all but the gate) moving my chickens. The gate got hung but I need to move my one t-post that it will attach to. I misjudged by about 2 inches. Not bad considering I was eyeballing everything. Today has been an inside day though. It snowed, rained, and the wind is blowing. I’ve been reading though. I have a good mystery novel going and can’t seem to put it down for long. Plus, I’m sore from yesterday. Sad that it has come to a point in my life where doing a little fencing some digging and some hauling stuff makes me hurt so much. I am pitifully out of shape.

Swinging a hammer to drive t-posts now just hurts. That does not make me happy. It shows me how much I need to get out and doing stuff again. Active stuff that is. Soon, the garden goes in and that will help. I still have the old chicken area to rake and finish cleaning up too. All that wonderful chicken waste to add to the garden.

The other thing I got done yesterday was to put in an umbrella clothes line. I have wanted one for years. I finally bit the bullet and did it. I knew they fit a lot on them but I didn’t realize just how much until I hung that first load yesterday. Holy moly! A load that would have taken up most of my single line between two trees, barely took up a quarter of the new line. Yay! This has the added benefit to being just off my back porch as well. That means I walk out the back door, set my basket on the wire reel table and start hanging clothes. No up and down stairs. No bending down over and over again to reach for clothes while kicking the basket down the line. In other words, bliss. Yes, hanging my laundry out makes me happy. It is the one thing I truly like about doing laundry. If someone else would do the rest of it and let me just hang clothes out, I’d be in heaven.

The new line will be a good place to dry skeins of yarn too. I am distracted by Spring at the moment but I’ll get back to the spinning here shortly.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

