Knitting

It is not my strong suit.  I can’t seem to follow a pattern or even my own notes to save my life.  Argh!  At least it means I’m getting better at fixing mistakes and the knitting basics.  I seem to do a lot of that.  I just made another pair of fingerless mitts and after I got them all done I realized that pile of tic marks I’d made note of wasn’t the thumb row numbers but another six, count them, six, rows of knitting on the main body.  So that means that one is six rows shorter than the other.  I’m thinking I may have to try to rip out the bind off and see if I can figure out how to fix it.  At least I fixed the issue of getting holes by the thumb join.  I picked up some extra stitches on the second one that fixed that problem.  Hmmmm…  Lots to learn still.

I do enjoy the learning process.  Just not the frustration factor.  Part of what I enjoy is that the more knitting I learn, the better I can make my spinning.  Knowing how a material comes together sure helps in how to spin.  I am beginning to see the benefits to being able to knit a swatch as part of your sampling process when spinning.  It is much better to be able to see what the end product is going to look like.

Things I need to improve upon all around:

Taking detailed notes.  This goes for my knitting, crochet, and spinning.  I tend to forget important details if I don’t write them down.

Knitting skill set.  Especially reading and following knitting patterns.

Crochet skills.  I need to remember to keep up the crochet and work on learning more stitches.  And of course patterns.

Tools.  I need/want to expand my tool stash.  I have very few knitting needles as I crocheted for years, so I have a pretty wide variety of crochet hooks but not needles.  I am working on changing that.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knitting

  1. tilleyb says:

    Oooo, knitting tool shopping is fun! My mom bought me a stitch counter, markers and all sorts of fun gadgets for Xmas. I’d recommend trying some of those out too!

    • I some how ended up with many of these gadgets from some kit I got somewhere along the way. My kids’ babysitter makes the cutest stitch markers too so I got some of those. 🙂 Needles are my lack right now. Someday I will find a yard sale or estate sale of a knitter. I love the stories old tools have to tell.

  2. Brenda says:

    Too bad we don’t live closer, you could take my knitting classes. Keep on working at it and it will get easier and easier. Have fun, If you have questions or are stuck, let me know and maybe I can help you out. I have helped others through MJFarms.

Leave a Reply

