Spinning Challenge

I’m spinning a new challenge for me. I am trying to match a set of yarns for my friend and market neighbor. She wants to make an afghan and doesn’t have enough to do a second. She bought this pattern as a kit years ago I guess and it was all New Zealand wools in natural colors to make a pattern of sheep, border collies, and a fence.

First, I need to match the weight. The yarn is a two ply bulky but has hardly any twist to the individual plies. My first sample is close but spun too tightly. Even after setting the twist, where a yarn can sometimes “bloom” this one did not. Back to my wheel. I am going to finish off some lace weight on the Louet spinning wheel and try spinning on that wheel. My Kromski is what I spun my first sample on and I think I’m better off sticking to the lighter weight yarns on it. I just can’t seem to get a bigger, lighter, yarn lately.

I am excited about this new challenge. This is not something I’ve ever tried to do. It will mean lots of spinning, sampling, and knitting some swatches to test the gauge.

I found the pattern! Family Circle Counting Sheep/Warm and Wooly

It looks like a fun one. I especially like that my friend wants to make it with hand spun yarn. We haven’t worked out price yet but most likely we’ll settle on something that will make us both happy. She bakes wonderful bread so I might see about trading for some of that. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it.

And now I am off to see what I can get done so I can get back to this little project of mine. If only I can keep myself from hurrying through my other spinning.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spinning Challenge

  1. That will be a fun project :-D.

  2. Leigh says:

    The pattern is fantastic! What a way to use a variety of yarns for something attractive and fun. Good spinning challenge too. Too many spinners can only spin “whatever.” Being able to match another yarn takes some expertise.

    • It looks like a really fun pattern to me too. Although my friend’s version differs just a little as it adds border collies to it as well. I think I finally have the weight matched. I’m off and spinning on the first round of yarn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

