Plans

Moving into the new year has me reviewing and planning. I’ve managed to get some of my huge pile of wool processed locally. I probably only have about 95 pounds to go. It is going to have to wait until spring so I can build a skirting table and do it right. I figure I’ll probably also use the stock tank that was left on our property and make that my wash tub for the first go around. It is too cold to do much of that right now though. All spring time projects.

Right now in the middle of winter gives way to the planning for the construction of the skirting table and planning classes. I’ll be offering a beginning spinning class soon. I’m excited to help someone else get into this wonderful world of fiber. I have several location prospects that I need to sort out. Actually lots of little details to sort as of yet.

Other plans in the works are the possibility of getting my own fiber critters. I’m on the lookout for goats and I have a lead on some sheep that have been in a hand spinners flock and are current FFA projects. It will be a little while yet before that project is done but it is a possibility for me.

Now, it is off to bang my into my head some tax numbers. If anyone has any really great ways to take care of bookkeeping I would appreciate the information. I certainly need to be better about it in 2014. It will be much easier now that I have an idea what is needed though.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Plans

  1. Leigh says:

    I wanted to return the blog visit and thank you for taking time to leave a comment on mine.

    “Only” about 95 pounds of fiber to go? I love it.

    I used to want Shetland sheep, but ended up with goats for the milk, although I think angora goats are the most beautiful goat in the world. I kept angora rabbit for awhile, which is why I’ll likely never be able to raise rabbits for meat. I was delighted when I got a young llama for fiber, but he died of failure to thrive; very heart breaking. You should also consider alpacas!

    • Thanks for the visit!

      What a bum deal about the llama. I’m very interested in getting alpacas and goats. We have the acreage but not the fencing at this point. Right now we are focusing on getting the garden, chickens, and orchard going. These are much higher priorities since I have two young kids who for some reason like to eat. 🙂 The fiber critters will come. I need weed patrol too which is why I’m thinking goats. We shall see.

      I love reading your blog and you have some great informational links. Thank you from a beginning homesteader for taking the time to link to them.

Leave a Reply

