Happy New Year

2013 has been a big year for me. I started this lovely little endeavor of Little Hawk Yarns. I kind of can’t believe I finally just jumped in and started my very own business. I had always wanted to and now I have. It runs on a shoestring, a lot of hope, and dreams but it runs! I’m learning loads of wonderful tidbits as I go. I can’t imagine the number of mistakes I’ve made and am making. It is a learning process. For example I’ve just filled out my first state sales tax form. Yikes! So scary and fun all at the same time.

The end of the my first year (not quite a full year but the end of the first calendar year)… What do I think so far? I’m having a blast. I have miles to go yet. I have some changes I want to make but generally not big ones. I can’t believe the amount of support I’ve had from this wonderful community that really didn’t know me, but is willing to get to know me. Because of the support from the community I’ve done better than I ever imagined I would. Thank you! Thank you!

What is in store for the upcoming year of 2014? Hmmmm… Well, I have a little surprise that I will reveal in the next post. Not quite ready for announcement but it will be shortly. What I can tell you is that I will be working on even more yarns, more wooly balls, and I’ve started to expand into a few felted items along with a few other hand knits and crocheted items. I plan on attending our local fiber fair as a vendor if possible and I will continue to attend our local farmer’s market. I’m determined to get my Etsy page up and running with a full shop. I find photos are what hang me up. I’m not the best photographer by any means and I’m even worse about getting the photos from my camera to my computer. It is not something I’m excited about. I would much rather be spinning or doing something else with the wool. I’m determined to get better about it though. I’m also hoping to update this blog/webpage and turn it into a real store to make it easier to shop for those of you who can’t attend the farmer’s market here.

All in all my first year has been a good one. That good has to be attributed to my customers and my community that has supported me. My family has been wonderfully supportive as well. I couldn’t ask for a more supportive husband or kids. They all help me get ready for market and my husband watches the kids while I’m there. When the kids come with me they are on their best behavior. I can’t thank everyone enough. You all have made this crazy dream of mine a reality.

Happy New Year!

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. Lori says:

    Congratulations on an exciting and successfully productive year. It’s been fun getting to know you a little bit and following your journey. Wishing you much success and joy in 2014!

  2. Brenda says:

    Hi Kat, So glad everything has gone well for you. Hope the next year will be even better. isn’t great being able to do the things you like and make a living too!!

Leave a Reply

