Freezing Friday

I’m beginning to think my thermometer is broken. It sits at -20 F and has for about two days now. I don’t think it is really broken, as the other morning it was down around -28 degrees and by yesterday afternoon when the sun came out we made it up to a balmy -15 degrees. My wood stove has been getting a work out to say the least. I hope you all are sitting a bit warmer than I am.

This weather does make for good knitting and spinning weather though. So long as one can keep the fingers warm enough to work the needles. I keep cozied up to the stove with my wheel and I do alright. I’ve been working on some interesting yarns. I am using washed fiber only. I’m not doing any other prep to it and just spinning the locks. I’m doing this with some of my Keebler fleece and some kid mohair I got about a month ago. They are both interesting yarns. I can hardly wait to get them actually finished. I may not even sell them as yarn. I want to work with them myself so I may make something with them. I have not found that perfect project yet but I will.

Brrrr. It is official. Even my little corner office where I write is cold and my fingers don’t particularly want to work. Guess it is time for me to get some chores done so I can get spinning without feeling guilty. I’d especially better get the sourdough going for pizza crust. The house is cold enough that will take all day to get a good rise.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

