Knitting

Well, I finished off the first of my socks. These are the first socks I’ve ever knit. The sock doesn’t fit me. :/ Figures. At least it should fit my son. They are a little long for now but it won’t be long and it won’t be too long for him. Besides the fact that the socks don’t fit me it didn’t turn out too badly. I should have followed the instructions on the pattern to knit the last couple of rows on the leg/cuff in a needle that was larger and bind off with this so there is more “ease.” I didn’t do that and therefore we have part of the fit issue. Also, for my foot the heel didn’t end up being tall/long enough in the second half. I think this stems from my very high arch that makes wearing many shoes impossible. The only trouble I had with the heel was that I ended up with a hole on one side. I’m not sure why it didn’t join right. It is a short row heel turn and that seemed pretty simple. I fixed it by darning the hole together. Hopefully I can skip that part on the next sock.

Overall I think I learned some good things about knitting. Follow the pattern! I always have trouble with this. There is a reason the pattern is written though. You would think I could figure out that the person who wrote the pattern might have written it that way because they had already tried doing it my way and found out my way stunk. Patience. I lack this when knitting. That is probably why I don’t knit often and I like spinning. I think I will enjoy knitting with a little larger yarn. I have a true blue sock yarn for this pair and it takes forever to get anywhere with the knitting. I’m thinking the next pair will have to be in a yarn that is a bit bigger. Otherwise I’m liable to give up on sock knitting because it takes so stinking long.

And lastly I learned to make sure to take notes. I now understand why my dad had a little notebook in his knitting bag or basket. He was always doing modifications to socks for size so he had notes on the measurements of the whole families feet. He was working on perfecting baby socks just before he died. He had it pretty darn close on the last pair of socks he knitted for my daughter. I’ll sure miss those socks showing up in the mail with some little difference between the two and instructions to report back on which one fit better. The next set would come with the modifications and more instructions to report back. I miss reporting back but now I understand after knitting a sock. I didn’t get it before. Maybe someday I’ll finish the pair of socks he was working on.

So that is what I have been working on. Knitting socks, mug rugs, and mason jar cozies. I’ve of course been spinning too. I’ll have some new yarns coming out from the Brown Sheep Wool I got. I have two that need set and then I think I’ll wind them off into balls. I got a ball winder for my birthday and it is proving very handy to have.

How about you? What have you been working on?

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knitting

Leave a Reply

