I might have a new addiction.

During our local fiber fair I picked up some alpaca fiber. Only two ounces as the stuff isn’t cheap. Oh man! I think I am in love. I spun it the other day while I was at market. So soft, so wonderful, so pretty. The roving I got was two toned. It was a lovely brown and white. When I spun it the yarn comes out a stripy two-tone that kind of looks like a peppermint twist but in different colors. Beautiful.

I have a friend with lots of alpacas and she has a couple that have this beautiful red fiber. I want some! I’m thinking instead of sheep or goats I might have to go the alpaca route. My only major problem is that I really know nothing about raising alpacas or any other camelid. At least I would have sources local to me. I have the one friend with alpacas and another with llamas. They should be able to direct me to things like which vet is better with that type of animal and who would be able to shear for me. I might attempt shearing myself but I don’t know yet.

So my whole point to this is that if anyone wants to gift me alpaca fiber I would be a very happy recipient. I’ll be interested to see how I like spinning the mohair and angora I picked up in addition to the alpaca. I think that the experimenting is one of my favorite things about spinning.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I might have a new addiction.

  1. Lori Watson says:

    How fun! Alpacas are really easy to raise (we have 3). Very low maintenance and they eat very little, and don’t really need high-quality feed, either. The fiber is really nice. I have one of the cinnamon red ones, and the fiber is so pretty. I also have a black one and a white one. Have fun exploring the possibility!

  2. Laura says:

    I think you and I need to brainstorm together on this one. I want an Alpaca farm too. Just been trying to convince the hubby. (of course, I have a different hobby farm idea every week… lol!)

Leave a Reply

