Best laid plans

My last post I talked about the fact that I was supposed to go talk to a 2nd grade class. Well, we got snowed out of that one. I felt terrible but there was no getting around the fact that I wasn’t going anywhere. We didn’t get the nearly 2 feet that South Dakota got but we still got enough to make travel unsafe. Especially since I have to take my two-year-old with me. I didn’t want to chance getting stuck or sliding off the road while I had her with me. I’m hoping the teacher ends up wanting to re-schedule but I understand if she doesn’t. Those are the times that it isn’t fun living out-of-town or 4 miles off the highway. Our road is not pretty during inclement weather.

I’m hoping the weather holds and stays nice for a couple of weeks from now too. I have a date for a spinning demonstration for a group of high school kids. It should be fun to see their reactions. Now I just need to get my lesson plan laid out. It sounds like I have the entire 40 minute class (all three of them). I’m not sure if I’m excited or terrified. Maybe both.

I have been very busy just trying to keep up with market and spinning demos lately. This past weekend I had a demo for a cooperative grocery store’s grand opening. It was a lot of fun! They carry my products so I was one of the producers there. I also happen to work there on occasion. I never would have thought that I would go from being an aircraft mechanic to spinner and co-op store cashier along with my garden. Funny how life throws those curve balls.

I see a pile of frosted tomatoes staring in the window at me. Loads of garden chores and I’m hoping to get some wool processed before the really frosty weather hits. We’re supposed to be almost 80 today. That should be some good wool drying weather. And maybe the last good weather for a while. We shall see.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

