Space Cadet

I may as well have my own rocket I’ve been so spacey lately. I just realized, two days later, that I forgot to take my camera with me to the fiber fair. Doh! I was going to take pictures to show you all and I didn’t even have the dang thing with me. I think it is all the heat and steam from all the canning I’ve been doing. I’m very sick of tomatoes and zucchini at this point. I’m ready for stew and soup season. By spring I’ll be more than happy to get the garden going again but I’m done at this point. That is one of the beauties of all this. It is very seasonal. At least I know it will end.

I did get some fun fiber to play with at our fair. I picked up a couple of ounces of alpaca, an ounce of Angora (maybe bunny, I forgot to ask and it isn’t specific), and an ounce of mohair. I’m supposed to get some mohair at some point so I figured I’ll see what it is like to spin. My friend has a wool business in another little town close by and I got all my dyed rovings from her. The others were from a few other folks. I’m excited to get them all done up.

This month will be wool work. Maybe instead of canning? I have that huge pile of wool and I need to get it open and see just what I’ve got. It needs picked over and skirted and then I’ll hopefully get it processed. At the very least a little bit organized and moth proofed so I can get my garage back a little.

I think I’d better go do some of that so I can work on spinning this evening. Right now my 2 year-old is asleep so I’ll have a little while to work out there.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

