Fiber Fair

Our local fiber fair is this weekend! I’ll be at market in the morning but I plan on being out at the fiber fun all afternoon. After all, my spinning group will be there too. I can’t wait to go wander and just soak in all the fiber wonderful stuff. I’m hoping it is a good market so I can have some spending money. If not, I’ll be relegated to just window shopping. That would be okay too. Just being around all those wonderful fibers makes me happy. Oh, I was going to include the link to our fair. So here you go: Scottsbluff Fiber Art Fair

And on Friday I am taking one of the classes. Dyeing. I’m so excited to get my hands dirty. 🙂

Let’s see, the other things going on are I’m trying to spin like crazy but it has been hot, I’ve been knitting but I can’t seem to get this pattern right no matter what, and I built myself a set of wool combs. So this morning I will be sitting down with my knitting again. I think I have enough to do another fingerless mitt. Or maybe I’ll frog it out and see if I can learn how to fix my knitting mistakes. I don’t know which I’ll do yet. I might actually make one to match the one with the mistake since I like it better than the original. There are an extra four rows in the original that I’m not sure I care for. Besides knitting I’ll see if I can get some combed top going now that I have my combs. I’ll see if I can get some photos of them as well. They aren’t super pretty right now. Maybe I’ll make another set that is prettier. The combs seem to work just fine though.

And spinning. I need to spin oodles of cotton. The gal that has the booth next to me at market wants enough cotton to make a sweater. I’m thinking 1000-2000 yards depending on the needle and sweater size. So I better get cracking on that. The best part of that is she makes bread for the market. She wants to trade bread for at least some of the cotton. I’m cool with that. Yummy breads that I don’t have to bake or buy. Yes please!

Soon we are into our Fall and Winter markets. I’m glad the weather is finally starting to come back to a cooler spot. We’ve been pushing 100 and all of a sudden we dropped into the 70s and have rain. It feels so good. I’m hoping this will help bring people out to market again. It has been a bit slow with the heat. I’ll be putting together some gift baskets for Christmas here soon. I’m excited to get those going. I think they’ll be fun to put together.

I’d better see if I can get any of my to-do list crossed off today.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fiber Fair

  1. Lori Watson says:

    Have fun this weekend! I went to a fiber fair last year in Salt Lake and it was awesome. I wasn’t able to go this year. There aren’t a lot of them around here, at least not that I can seem to get away to go to. So I’ll just live vicariously through you! I took a dyeing class last year and it was a blast. I actually just ordered some dyes so I can start playing more with that. Yay! 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    That sounds like so much fun! We went to the Michigan Fiber Festival a few weeks ago.
    I hope you have a great time!

Leave a Reply

