A knitting pattern to try

http://www.maryjanesfarm.org/Recipes-Patterns-Instructions/sweater-shawl.pdf

I think even my basic knitting skills may be able to handle the pattern in the link.  Now my patience may not.  Because I’m a very slow knitter, and terrible at following patterns, I get very frustrated very quickly with knitting projects.  This is why I like spinning.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  Spinning is my instant gratification.

I’ve been working on a pair of fingerless mitts for about a month now.  Well, working is used very loosely here.  I’m at the point of building the thumb and haven’t had a good stretch of time to sit down and work it out all in one chunk.  I know I’ll lose my place if I don’t work the thumb all in one sitting.  I had used another yarn and made one of these and then I ran out of yarn after getting the cuff of the second one done.  Argh!  So that set sits and waits for me to frog out the one to the cuff.  Then I need to decide which yarn will go with the green cuff.  These will be good winter projects when I’m not right in the middle of canning season.

I’ll add the knitting to my pile of kid clothes and toys to repair and the quilt that I’m trying to restore.  That is a slow project too since I’m hand stitching the pieces in and it is more or less what is known as a crazy quilt.  I have no idea how old the quilt is but I do know it is one of our favorites.  Once I get the top done I’ll re-do the back of it as well.  There are holes all the way through.

I’d better get cracking this morning.  I finally have some energy and I have a ton of canning to catch up on along with the house stuff and market products.  School started in earnest which means the kiddo brought home a head cold to share.  I went to bed insanely early last night which means I might make it to noon on this surge of energy.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

