Good morning,

I’ve been reading, listening, and looking at knitting and crochet patterns and blogs. At my market stall I keep getting questions regarding the amount of yarn it takes for projects. Oh dear. I’m not nearly far enough in my knitting or crochet to estimate this from my head. I’m also terrible at following patterns. I’m trying to force myself to learn to follow patterns. My projects will turn out much nicer if I follow a pattern. At least once I get an idea of how many stitches to cast on after following a pattern a couple of times then I should be able to improvise from there.

I would imagine it is much like cooking. Follow a recipe a few times and then you can modify it to your tastes. Who am I kidding? I can’t follow recipes either. I’m forever tweaking just one little thing here and there. But I will learn to follow a knitting pattern. I will learn more of the technical side of spinning and knitting. I need to so I can help my customers.

It all boils down to the fact that I am on the hunt for some good guides to estimate yardage requirements. I’m also on the look out for a kitchen/wool scale. I’m really hoping to find a scale I can calculate the tare weight so I can use whatever kind of bowl or dish. This way I don’t have to have separate scales for my kitchen and my wool. Just separate bowls. I know the scales are out there and easily found. It is the amount of money folks want for them that stops me, because of course I have expensive tastes. So, I’ll have to save my pennies and wait until I find a good deal.

Like any good spinner/knitter/fiber junkie I’m always on the lookout for yarn, fiber, and tools of the trade. Someday I should find a better place than my living room for my stuff. Luckily my family supports my fiber habit whole-heartedly. They are all enablers to my fiber habit. It is wonderful.

But back to my main point. I think I may have found some decent guides for yardage estimations. Now I just need to make up some cards/brochures. I think in between the canning and regular place chores that will be my project this week. Our local fiber fair is coming up too. September 14th! I’ll be at market in the morning but that afternoon I get to go out to the fairgrounds and go play. Also, I’m taking a class on dying yarn the day before. I can’t wait.

I’d better get on some of those chores before the day gets away from me. I’m not looking forward to the chicken coop cleaning, and it looks like I need to fix my hot pepper jelly that doesn’t want to set. Dang!

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good morning,

  1. Lori Watson says:

    I got this scale from Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Weighmax-Digital-Postal-Scales-Shipping/dp/B003ZJQ5RU/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1378138326&sr=8-3&keywords=postal+scale

    It’s sold as a postal scale, but it would work in the kitchen, too. It does tare, and you can switch back and forth between metric and standard units. I really like it and it’s pretty inexpensive, but gets great reviews and seems to be good quality. I’ve had it for a year or so and it’s still right on par with the scale at the post office. It can run on batteries and also has an AC adapter.

    As far as estimating yardages, weigh your skein of yarn before you start your project. Then you can divide the number of yards by the ounces and that will tell you how many yards are in each ounce. Then when you’re finished, weigh the yarn that is left. That will tell you how many ounces you used, do the math again and it will tell you how many yards you used. Or… you can buy a yarn yardage counter like this one: http://www.amazon.com/Jo-Ann-Stores-MO18-Yarn-Counter/dp/B0018BVSA6/ref=sr_1_1?s=arts-crafts&ie=UTF8&qid=1378138664&sr=1-1&keywords=yardage+counter.

    Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

