Experiments

new fleece

new fleece

This is a fleece I traded for. I’ve washed part of it. The part that would fit in my washer ended up being about a quarter of it. I have 2 of these. I’m really wishing for a better set up to process wool. Oh well. I’ll do what I can with what I have for now.

Now on to the experiments. I had some interesting colored water yesterday from peeling peaches. I’m trying to dye some wool with it. Looks like it might come out an interesting grey. I’m also dying some more wool with beets. I’ll have to try turmeric later. Those experiments should be about ready to come out of the oven and get set up to dry the wool.

My process is pretty simple. I use vinegar and the plant. I haven’t been using a mordant so far so I don’t know how the color fastness (is that a word?) is with these dyes. I’ve just been putting them into canning jars with the liquid so I can heat them directly in the jars. I haven’t located any good dye pots yet. I really should hit the yard sales one of these weekends.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Experiments

  1. Lori says:

    What fun! I’ve played around with raw fleece, and like you find it”s pretty slow going with just hand carders. I haven’t done much with dyeing yet, but would really like to. You just may inspire me to overcome my intimidation and jump in. I look forward to seeing how your experiments turn out.

  2. Debbie says:

    Wow! That is amazing. I have not ever worked with fleece but so admire you folks that do! I do dye my homemade pasta though with beets and it works great and it is so vibrant! I am sure the process is different! Hahaha! Post more pics of your dying “experiments”. That is really cool.

Leave a Reply

