A few musings and some big dreams.

Today was a good market day. As I was setting up I was thinking how nice it was to be able to participate in the adventure. I love the hustle and bustle as we all set up for market. This morning a thick fog had settled in so we were setting up in grey wet air. It felt good to wear a sweater and it let me model a hat I’d made last winter out of my hand spun yarn.

Next weekend I won’t be partaking in the market festivities. I will be travelling to a nearby town to run a 5K. Don’t know if I’ll do any good but it is really just a fun run to raise money and I get to see a friend I haven’t seen in about 12 years. I’ll finally get to meet her husband and little girl too. I’m very excited for that.

Let’s see, besides market, and missing market next weekend I’m working on more wooly balls. I’m trying to get enough going to supply our new co-op with them as well as my market stand. I’ll get there. I also traded for some wool today at market so I’ve started the washing process there. All this wool is making me really wish I had a drum carder instead of just hand cards. Someday. I may actually have to holler for help from a friend of mine that has a massive drum carder.

I have dreams that are really starting to solidify in regards to a separate wool house. I need a place to store, wash, card, and spin. My living room works for now but if I keep going I’ll need some additional space. I might have to carve it out of the basement for a bit. Not sure yet just what I’ll do. I certainly need to find wool storage. I would love a studio/wool house. Large windows that face South to catch the winter sun will be a must. But then some sort of hail protection for those windows for the summer storms too. As I’m thinking about this I don’t know where I would want this. Behind my house? That would put it closer to any critters I’ll get and less visible to the road. If it were to go in the front of the house there would be fewer obstacles to plan around.

Of course this is all just dreaming at the moment. I have no money to do any of it at the moment. We need to do other improvements to the house first. In the mean time I will plan, dream, and play with floor plans and location ideas.

I’d better go spin the water out of a batch of wool and put the rest of it up and out of reach of the kittens.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

