Market Day

I have so much fun at our market. I just love talking to everyone. My very favorite though is getting to talk to the little kids. It is so much fun to see the smile come across their face when they feel the fuzzy wool and then it gets even bigger when you let them take a piece home. That just makes my day.

Today I had a little girl come and watch me spin for a while. Her aunt was with her and was obviously a little frustrated with all the questions and little hands everywhere. The little girl reminded me very much of my own son. So many questions. Mind going a hundred miles an hour and the mouth just trying to keep up. I understood the aunt’s frustration. You feel like the kid is bothering everyone and is into everything. The little girl really was not bothering me this morning. She asked great questions about why I was doing things as I was spinning, and not just why I did it but more of a what was I trying to achieve by doing it. Those weren’t the words she used but that was certainly her meaning. I really like those questions from kids. It makes me think about the issue at hand more in-depth rather than just doing something out of habit. I even got a great random hug from the little girl. She doesn’t know it but she really did make my morning into a great morning. Just sitting here typing this it makes me smile all over again.

It sounds like I may be going and teaching a spinning class to a class at the high school as well. I talked to their teacher today. They apparently do a fiber art section. I wish I would have had a cool class like that in high school. I’m trying to decide whether or not to teach spinning on the side. I don’t know if folks are interested. Well, more in the fact I don’t know if they are interested enough to take a class. I’m not very set up for it at this point. I only have one wheel and that could make things more difficult. Certainly so for more than one person. I think at this point classes will have to wait.

I just realized I have photos of my booth from a week or so ago that I need to get loaded onto the computer. I’d forgotten I had taken those. I’d better see if I can find a cable and get that done.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Market Day

  1. thecrazysheeplady says:

    If you have a knack for teaching, I think you should go for it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

