Coming soon

I will be getting my camera’s sd card cleared and take some pictures for here. I have lots of new wonderful yarns ready to go. Especially since I’ve been participating in the Tour de Fleece. See, if I promise you on here that I will do this then maybe I’ll actually remember and get it done. In the middle of the garden harvest I find myself a tad distracted. Just ask my kids and husband. Not much else gets accomplished other than food preservation.

So this week before market I will try to focus on getting some photos of the yarns. I’m hoping the light cooperates with me for those. See? I’m even putting a deadline on myself. In the mean time I have been spinning up some of the giant bag o’ wool. I’m also debating sending some of it off to process as there is so much of it I’m not sure my washer or septic system will be thrilled with that much washing. I have some local sources I’d like to talk to before I make any decisions since I would like to make this endeavor as local as possible. I would like to get my wool locally, process it locally, and sell locally. Don’t get me wrong, I would be more than happy to have online orders and I have ordered fleece online as well. It is just that for the most part I was this to be as local as practical.

To that end I would like to talk a little bit about what I’m trying to do with my spinning adventures. I am getting started through our local farmer’s market first. I love to meet new people and what a great way to meet people! As far as raising my own sheep goes I won’t be there for a little while. We bought our place less than a year ago and we need to get into the swing of things so to speak. Right now we are focusing on getting the garden established, getting mouse patrol (kittens) in place, and this Fall we’ll put a wood stove in. Currently we are all-electric and that makes me nervous during power outages, especially during the winter.

I’m also getting chicks this week and will be testing the “livestock” waters with them. I’m not new to caring for livestock which is why I hesitate. It isn’t the cost of purchasing the animals, although that is a consideration. It is everything that goes along with having an animal. Hay, vet, fencing, buildings, shearing for the sheep, and numerous other little details that you don’t think about at first. To say the least it all means I’m thinking really hard about whether or not to raise my own sheep. I will need someone to graze the pasture and I want wool available and sheep are cute (I know, not a practical reason for getting an animal). Those are all points in favor of getting some next spring. We’ll just have to see how things are going at that point in time.

I had better get working on those photos. I don’t know how many I have on there that need sorted and I’ve made a promise to you, my readers.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

