Tour De Fleece

Ever heard of it? I hadn’t either until I read the blog entry over at Punkin’s Patch. After reading the guidelines and information at Ravelry I thought I just might try it. So I joined the Team My Favorite Sheep and I’m off spinning.

So what is the Tour De Fleece? You spin every day of the Tour De France. Here are the “official” guidelines from the group:

Guidelines (NOT RULES):
1. Spin every day the Tour rides, if possible. Saturday June 29th through Sunday July 21st. Days of rest: Monday July 8th and Monday July 15th. (Just like the actual tour.)

2. Spin something challenging on the challenge day (usually the toughest high mountain stage: this year, it’s Stage 18, on Thursday, July 18th, when they climb Alpe d’Huez twice).

3. Wear yellow on Sunday July 21st to announce victory. Why not wear yellow on any day you feel particularly successful? (Yellow is the color of the race leader in the Tour – but here we are all ‘race leaders’)

4. Other colors if desired: Green (sprinter – think FAST), Polka-dot (climber – as in uphill), and white (rookie).

I can do that. Plus this is good timing since I need to get it in gear for the market that is coming up on the 13th and the 20th. Yikes! I don’t feel ready for that.

So what have I gotten done so far? I’ve spun a cotton and plied my green and white cotton together. It turned out really pretty. I still need to actually see what the yardage is and tag it. I washed a bit of the monster bag of wool and spun up a sample. I’m excited to get the rest of it washed up too (I’ll get there once my laundry is done). Last night I managed to get a bobbin full of the Keebler fleece. I almost made it through what I had carded. I’ll probably add the last little bit of that to the bobbin today and then I’ll have to sit and card a bunch more before I can spin again. Unless I go to spinning cotton again.

It is times like this that I wish I had more than just my hand cards and I wish I had more bobbins. That isn’t the case so I’ll just make do with what I have. I also really see the appeal of double treadle wheels. I love my little wheel but it would be nice to have another one. Someday…

Thinking about all that wool to process I may end up having my friend process at least some of the wool I got. She has the big drum carder along with all the other facilities to process a lot of wool. I’ll have to see what she charges.

For now I’d better get going on some more spinning/carding this morning. Once I’m through that last little bit of prepared fleece I should also set some yarns. I suppose I should print labels and do up some tags too. Somewhere in there I might squeeze in a nap. I did yesterday.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

