Critters

Soon I will be able to get some critters for our place. Now that we’ve been getting some moisture we have a bit of grass and we have weeds. Wow! We have weeds. I’m on the look out for sheep mainly. Sheep and chickens. I’ll get the chickens first since their coop is set up. I need to put a few finishing touches on their area this week but they are just about set up. Two gates, a waterer, a feeder, some bedding, and a bin for the food to keep the mice out. Speaking of mice… We’ll also be looking for a couple of barn cats to help with mouse and mole/vole patrol. Once I have those guys in place and comfy then I’ll be working on getting a gate for the corral and making the little shed comfy for a couple of sheep. I’ll need to find some hay that hopefully isn’t through the roof expensive too. This last year or so has been rough on the hay prices. Great if you raise hay, not so great if you buy hay.

I would really love to find a couple of Targhee sheep. I’ve worked with the wool from a couple and I love the feel of it while spinning. So soft. Plus I have a soft spot in my heart for anything from Southeast Idaho since I am from there as well. In all reality I probably won’t find Targhee sheep over here. I will keep an eye out though. We’ll see what comes available. In the mean time I’ll be putting together things like a basic vet pack, getting fences ready, and getting shelter ready. I figure if I do it a little at a time it won’t be too bad.

While I’m doing that stuff, I’m getting my farmer’s market stall set-up ready to go. I mocked up my table yesterday. I still need signage and more product but I’m liking it so far. I am going to use some of my great-grandmother’s crocheted table runners for my table. The story is that she used to call her needlework her cigarettes until a fishing trip to the Adirondacks when she was about 60 years old. She took up smoking and didn’t do much needlework after that.

After pricing boards I think I’ll be making my own chalkboard for my signs. A can of chalkboard paint is pretty cheap and I have the wood. I also like the looks of chalkboard signs. I do not like writing with chalk though. Too dry and skritchy. Is that a word? Seems like it should be. But for the price and ease of doing a little painting I won’t be complaining about a little chalk.

I had better get a move on the day and get some of my list crossed off. It seems to be growing instead of shrinking.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

