Washing Wool

I’m almost done washing the fleece I got the other day from Punkin’s Patch. I don’t have my washer hooked up to hot water so I modified washing procedures a bit. When you wash wool you soak it in hot water. That is easy enough to do in my old baby bath tub. And this way I didn’t have to dump all the water into my septic. It went on the drive to help with the dust and over by our wind break trees. I did make sure not to get any plants I wanted to survive since the water was still hot. Keebler was my first fleece to wash myself. He turned out to have such nice curls. I still have one more chunk to wash of his since he wouldn’t all fit into my little tub. I finally figured out the best route for me for now when washing.

3 rounds of soaks in the tub with Dawn dishsoap (one this is what I had two it has always worked well to cut grease and since that is what lanolin is well…).

2-3 rinses in the hot water depending on the amount of fiber and soap used.

Spin the water out of the wool in the washing machine. I did this in between washing and rinsing too. And while I washed in the little tub I ended up rinsing in the washer. I just used the tub to transfer hot water from the sink to the washer. This way too I didn’t forget I had wool in there while the washer filled and accidentally let it agitate. Not possible when you are hauling water.

Now that most of the wool is washed and a lot of the hay (vegetable matter) is out I’ve now started to card a bit of it. I can’t wait to actually spin this but I guess I’ll have to wait until I get a bit more ready. Thank goodness my husband puts up with me doing this stuff in my kitchen/laundry room/porch. He says so long as he doesn’t have to do it he’s good with it.

I can see though if I do this a lot more I’ll have to bug him about fixing the hot water in the washer and maybe even doing something separate from the house someday. Not yet though.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

