Reading and research

Prior to purchasing any sheep I’ve been trying to do my reading and research. I haven’t dealt with sheep since I was about 2 and of course at the age of 2 it isn’t like I was in charge of anything to do with the sheep. It is funny what an impact being around those sheep had on me though. When I walk up and put my hands into the wooly coat of a sheep now there is something very familiar about it. The feel and the smell is so very familiar to me despite the years that have passed.

One place I’ve been doing some reading is here on the American Sheep Industry webpage. I’ve also been reading some blogs here and there. I usually find them for the pictures of adorable lambs. Especially this time of year. My Little Sheep is one that seems to have some good solid information about sheep and where to go for more information. Sheepy Hollow Farm Life is great for all the fiber projects a person can do with the wool. She has some adorable sheep stuff. And last but not least on my reading list lately has been at Punkin’s Patch. What great lamb photos!

I still have some gates to work on and some pens to get built and other supplies to get before I have sheep. You know, little things like a vet kit, feed, water trough, and a guardian animal. I’ll need some sort of shed for storing the feed and whatnot along with shelter for the sheep. We have a small shelter that would be fine to start with. After we move the riding mower out of it. On top of all that I’ll need to find a way to do that without putting us in the poor house. Oh, and I’ll need to find a shearer for the spring time. That shouldn’t be too bad considering our proximity to Wyoming. Lots of sheep are raised there and from talking to people who already have sheep they have recommended the vets from over there as they deal with sheep more often. Good stuff to know.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading and research

  1. Hey, I’d never seen Sheepy Hollow before. Fantastic art!!! Here’s another good resource for sheep http://www.sheepandgoat.com/.

Leave a Reply

