Juggling

Today (well more this weekend) has been my time to juggle the stuff in my life. I had a 5K race to run in on Saturday. My first real live sanctioned 5K. I was pretty happy with the fact that I ran almost the whole thing. It was too stinking hot though. I am glad it started late enough for us to drive the 2 hours over there, but by the time my wave went it was well into the 80s. Ugh! I’m not a fan of the heat.

That was what I did yesterday instead of market this week. It was nice to take a little break and do a fun run. Now my nose is back to the grind stone. Today I have been juggling canning, spinning, and wooly ball making. Of course that is on top of the normal household stuff I get to do. I was happy to get the corn blanched and frozen and the salsa going. The salsa is processing now. Well, the first batch anyway. I have oodles of tomatoes ready. Looks like tomorrow will be more balancing.

I am trying to decide with the wool I dyed with beets if I want to make it a single or ply it and make it a double. I’ve wound it off the bobbin for now because I need to get some more spinning done and I can’t make up my mind.

Took a bit of a writing break to finish up the salsa. Looks like I got 12 pints and 2 quarts out of this batch. Looks like the rest of the tomatoes will be sauced and canned whole instead of salsa. I still have tomatillos to turn into green salsa too. Somehow I’ll work in the wool work between canning and freezing our current bounty.

It feels good to be canning my own produce and making yarn from wool that comes from local sheep. The only product in my salsa that wasn’t locally grown was the bell peppers. Oh, and I guess the spices. The salt and that sort of thing. But the onions and tomatoes were from my garden and the jalapenos were from a local farm bought through our local co-op grocery store.

I’d better get off the computer and get to carding wool so I’ll have something to spin. Laundry is almost done so I’m about to have a pile of wooly balls ready to go too.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, three chickens, and a cat. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Juggling

  1. Brenda Wheeler says:

    You call a run like that time off. Ugh, in the heat. I would have been finished before I started. Glad you had fun and enjoyed it. Looking forward to seeing the beet dyed yarn finished. Loved the color after it was dyed. As for canning, at least it doesn’t last all year. The best part is later when you get to eat all the great foods you canned. Keep up the good work! Brenda

Leave a Reply

